Saturday, June 18, 2016

Iowa City: Johnson County Board of Supervisors Passes Unanimous Resolution of Sympathy to the Victims of the Orlando Mass Shooting

It's Pride Day here in Iowa City!

In response to last weekend's mass shooting at the Pulse nightclub in Orlando, FL, the Johnson County Board of Supervisors issued a resolution of sympathy for the victims of shooting this past Thursday, June 16, 2016:
Resolution Expressing Sympathy to All Victims of the Orlando Shooting and Solidarity with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer/Questioning Individuals and the Communities that Support Them

Whereas, in the early morning hours of Sunday, June 12th, a gunman took the lives of 49 patrons and injured dozens more at Pulse, an Orlando nightclub that was known as a safe place for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer/questioning individuals as well as a community hub for HIV prevention, breast-cancer awareness and immigrant rights, among other causes; and

Whereas, the lives lost were innocent individuals whose futures were cut short and who leave loved ones to mourn; and

Whereas, we are shocked, saddened and angered by this senseless attack on individuals who are already too often the targets of hate, intolerance and bullying; and

Whereas, we stand with our Muslim neighbors and allies in denouncing these senseless acts of violence and oppose any efforts to attach blame to a particular faith or people.

Now, Therefore, be it resolved that we, the Johnson County Board of Supervisors, convey our deepest sympathy to the families and loved ones of the deceased and injured, that we further stand in solidarity with the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer/questioning community in the aftermath of this tragedy, and we urge all people to reject violence, hatred and discrimination toward anyone on the basis of race, gender, disability, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity or national origin.
The resolution was unanimously signed on 06/16/16 by each of the Johnson County Board of Supervisors: Rod Sullivan, Chairperson; Janelle Rettig, Mike Carberry, Lisa Green-Douglas, and Pat Harney.

No comments: